Tags

, , , , ,

By now, most of you know that November is National Adoption Month.  As I have scrolled through my Facebook and Twitter feeds, two common questions have been discussed– “What does adoption mean to me?” and “What does open adoption mean to me?”.  For this post, I plan to join the chorus and answer these questions.

What Adoption Means To Me

  • Love
  • Joy
  • Laughter
  • Worry
  • Kisses
  • Hugs
  • Sleep Deprivation
  • Awe

… What does adoption mean to me? Motherhood: the great times and the not so great times.  The laughter and the tears. Having the responsibility over another human’s life. The unconditional and reciprocal love we give each other. If it was not for adoption, my identity as a mother would not exist. If it were not for adoption, I would not hear, “I love you mommy” every morning. If it were not for adoption, I would not have the opportunity to see my husband teach, shape, and be awed by this little being in our home.

What Open Adoption Means to Me

  • Sisterhood
  • Unconditional Love
  • Selflessness
  • Gratefulness
  • Inspiration
  • Knowledge

… What does an open adoption mean to me? Having an extended family. Our son’s birth mother is now a member of our family. Her selflessness allowed me to become a mother. Her love is unconditional and her presence is an added benefit to our family. We are like sisters. We confide in each other. And yes, I ask her for advice. She has two older boys and her experience and insight is invaluable. But guess what? She asks for my advice as well. Having an open adoption has brought four (4) beautiful spirits into our lives, our son, his birth mother, and his two older brothers.

And so I ask you: What does adoption mean to you?

~Until Next Time~

Daysha

