This piece started as a Facebook post to a group that I belong to. However, the more I wrote, I realized that this might be a decent blog topic. We all have issues, problems, and challenges when it comes to parenting.  My  primary struggle is the conflict between me as a Sociologist and me as a Mom. I titled this post as “Role Conflict: The Sociologist versus The Mom (Thanksgiving Edition)” because I am quite positive this is not the only time my dual roles will battle each other.  So let’s get to it!

Next week is Thanksgiving. I have mixed feelings about the holiday. What’s the big deal you ask?  Well, I have a huge issue with the roots of the holiday- I hate perpetuating the myth of the shared meal between the Pilgrims and Native Americans and everyone living happily ever after. At least most are aware of, in general, the negative interactions between the groups; however, many do not know the true origin of the Thanksgiving Holiday. I have come to terms with, and embrace, the current meaning of Thanksgiving: the celebration of family and giving thanks for whom and what we have.

As a parent– and new school-age parent– this holiday is frustrating. We received a newsletter from the preschool informing us that the children will have a Thanksgiving feast (awesome– yay for food!) but they will also be making “Pilgrim and Indian” hats to wear during the feast (say what?)

The Sociologist side of me wants to go down to the school and wring the necks of all of the educators there and scream “how dare you perpetuate this F*ing myth of a holiday?!” – But alas, the mom side is winning out. Do I want my son to be an outcast by not allowing him to participate in the dressing up portion? No. He’s too young to understand why he will be the only one not allowed to wear the cool and funny hats. He will think he did something wrong. I don’t want him to take that on.

The preschool is just engaging in the same activities as every other school in the United States. So my job, I suppose, is just to teach my son the true history of Thanksgiving at home (age appropriate information, of course) and allow him to participate in the classroom activities. As he gets older, he will be able to decide if and how he wants to celebrate Thanksgiving.

This parenting thing is getting trickier and trickier.

Until next time!

~Daysha~

